How to Start a Business in Nevada:
Starting a business in Nevada is a simple process. After deciding on the type of business you want to start, you will need to form a legal entity, file for taxes, and register with the Secretary of State.
Form your business.
Review Nevada formation options.
Nevada offers 4 basic types of business structures. Review these closely and pick the one that fits your business best.
Name your business.
Once you have chosen a business name, you need to check the Nevada Secretary of State website to ensure that your business name is not the same or similar to another corporation registered in Nevada. You can then reserve your name with the Secretary of State for 90 days for $25.00.
If you need help finding a business name, be sure to check out NameSnack's free business name generator.
If you have a sole proprietorship or partnership and choose to operate the business under a name other than your own first and last name, you will need to file a Fictitious Firm Name. In Nevada, FFNs are filed with the County Clerk's Office of the county in which your business is located.
Go to the Nevada Secretary of State website and click on "Complete Packet."
File out the Name Reservation Request as well as the Customer Order Form.
If required, you can fill out the 1 or 2-Hour Expediate Customer Order form. For a one-hour expediated form, there is an extra $1,000.00 fee and for the two-hour expediated form, there is an extra $500.00 fee.
Send the completed and printed forms to the SOS office. You can see the address at the top of your form.
Alternatively, go to the SilverFlume website, click on "Reserve a Name," and create or log into your SilverFlume account to file your business name registration online.
Get an Employer Identification Number.
Nearly all businesses will need to register for federal taxes by applying for an Employer Identification Number.
Register your business in Nevada.
Businesses are regulated by Nevada state laws and must be registered by filing the appropriate forms with the Nevada Secretary of State.
- LLCs require Articles of Organization, with costs starting from $75.00, and can be registered online.
- Limited Partnerships require a Certificate of Limited Partnership, starting at $75.00. These certificates can be registered online.
- Corporations require Articles of Incorporation, starting at $75.00. The various Articles of Incorporation can be found online.
Every business that is registered in the state of Nevada must appoint a registered agent that has a physical address in Nevada.
The SilverFlume Business Portal is a free service offered to anyone seeking to start a small business in Nevada and is provided by the Nevada Secretary of State. The SilverFlume portal guides you on each step as you prepare your documents to register your new business.
Navigate to the SilverFlume New Business Checklist, select the type of entity you want to register, and click "Next."
Click on "Search/Add" and search for your industry. Click on "Next" once you have added your industry.
Enter the number of physical business locations you will have in Nevada and click "Next."
You will need to check local zoning codes yourself and you will also need to provide your jurisdictional location later on during your registration process, as SilverFlume does not handle this information.
Check whether or not you intend to have employees in Nevada and then click "Next."
Answer the tax requirements questions and click "Next."
You will be provided with links to the Articles of Organization, Articles of Incorporation, or Cetificate of Limited Partnership that you will need to complete. You will also receive a list of applicable taxes that you must register for.
Obtain the necessary permits and licenses.
Register for a Nevada state business license.
The state of Nevada requires all businesses to have a business license, which costs $500.00 annually for corporations and $200.00 annually for all other business types. When you register your business and file the appropriate articles through the SilverFlume portal, you will also be able to register for your business license at the same time.
Depending on your location and business type, you may also need to get a county license and/or one or more local city license(s). Check with the county and city websites that your business is located in.
Determine which industry-specific licenses and permits you need.
Certain industries in Nevada are required to register for special state licenses and permits. Some such industries include:
- Building contractors.
- Public transportation.
- Businesses with sources of regulated air contaminants.
- Food services.
You can get more information regarding permit requirements on the Department of Business and Industry's website.
Obtain a professional license, if necessary.
Business owners and workers who provide a professional service, such as accounting, court reporting, healthcare, or counseling, may need a professional license from the state or an independent board to legally operate in Nevada.
Comply with your county's zoning rules.
There may be certain zoning regulations and codes that you will need to comply with when locating your business in a Nevada county or zoning district.
Register your business for taxes.
Register with the Nevada Department of Taxation.
You will need to register your business with the Nevada Department of Taxation, which can be done through the SilverFlume portal.
Go to "My Checklist" from your SilverFlume dashboard (you will have developed this checklist after registering your business).
Go to "Common Business Registration" and see if there is a "Start" button next to it.
Follow the prompts to quickly register your business with the Nevada Department of Taxation.
Apply for a Sales Tax Permit, if applicable.
Every individual or entity engaging in business as a seller of tangible personal property in the state of Nevada must apply to the Nevada Department of Taxation for a sales tax permit for each business location. The once-off permit cost is $15.00 per location.
You can apply for a sales tax permit on the Department of Taxation's website. Alternatively, you can use SilverFlume.
Navigate to "My Checklist" from your SilverFlume dashboard.
If there is a "Start" button next to "Sales & Use Tax/eClearance Receipt," click on "Start" to complete the step and satisfy your tax registration requirements.
If your business purchases inventory for resale, you can be exempt from sales tax for your purchase as your business will tax the final customer.
Once you have applied for your sales tax permit and have obtained your seller’s permit number, you will need to fill out the Nevada Resale Certificate.
Double-check your eligibility for other taxes.
Depending on your location and business type, you may need to register for other taxes, such as:
- Commerce Tax Return.
- Modified Business Tax.
- Payroll taxes.
Your business checklist on your SilverFlume dashboard will tell you which taxes you should register for, and will also provide you with links to registering for those taxes.
You can also read through the Department of Taxation's information package for more information on tax requirements in Nevada.
Ensure that you comply with Nevada labor laws.
Compliance with labor laws in Nevada will ensure that your employees are treated appropriately at your business and their rights as employees are protected.
An employer is entitled to view a job applicant’s criminal history and obtain the relevant records from the criminal justice system. However, the Nevada Fair Employment Practices Act (NFEPA) prohibits employers from discriminating against applicants based on an individual's race, color, religion, sexual orientation, disability, or lawful use of any product outside the workplace. The state of Nevada also prohibits gender-based pay discrimination on jobs that require equal skill, responsibility, and effort.
You can refer to the Nevada Office of the Labor Commissioner for more information.
Get the necessary worker's compensation insurance.
The Division of Industrial Relations in Nevada administers the Workers’ Compensation Act. It requires an employer in Nevada with one or more employees to provide workers’ compensation coverage. You can obtain more information at the State of Nevada Department of Business and Industry website.
Health insurance isn’t a requirement for small businesses in Nevada.
Register for unemployment insurance tax.
The Nevada unemployment insurance program is designed to provide temporary economic benefits to eligible workers. The unemployment insurance rate is capped at 2.95% for each new business employee, up to the taxable wage limit. You can obtain more information regarding employer tax contributions on the Nevada Department of Employment, Training, and Rehabilitation website.
Register with the Nevada Employment Security Division and click on the link to create a new user account.
You will need to EIN to complete your registration.
Receive your Nevada UI account number.
Nevada Business Types:
1. Sole Proprietorship.
A Nevada sole proprietorship is the simplest business structure and usually involves one individual who is solely responsible for the enterprise. There is no need to file formation documentation, but sole proprietorships do require state business licenses and are subject to income taxes.
Nevada partnerships are suitable for businesses with two or more owners. There are three basic types of partnerships: general partnerships, limited partnerships, and limited liability limited partnerships. While general partnerships are similar to sole proprietorships, limited partnerships offer more flexibility and more protection for the limited partners.
Nevada corporations are standalone entities, completely separate from their shareholders. There are various types of corporations in Nevada that can be divided into for-profit corporations and nonprofit corporations. For-profit corporations are subject to federal income taxes and may sell stock to raise funds.
A corporation structure is usually not a popular choice for small businesses as it has the double-taxation limitation. However, high-growth technology and startup companies often choose to register as a corporation.
4. Limited Liability Company (LLC).
Nevada LLCs are the most popular business entity because of minimal paperwork, more flexibility, tax benefits, and a simple implementation process. LLCs have pass-through taxation, so business owners are not obligated to file a corporate tax return. They are also considered to be separate legal entities, offering business owners personal liability protection.
Nevada Formation and Registration Fees:
Certification of Documentation
LLC Articles of Organization
LLC Reintstatement Fee
LLC Certificate of Amendment
Articles of Incorporation for corporation shares of $75,000 or less
Articles of Incorporation for corporation shares of more than $75,000 but not over $200,000
Articles of Incorporation for corporation shares of over $200,000 but not over $500,000
Articles of Incorporation for corporation shares of over $500,000 but not over $1,000,000
Articles of Incorporation for corporation shares for the first $1,000,000
Articles of Incorporation for corporation shares of each additional $500,000 or fraction thereof over $1,000,000
How much does it cost to register a business in Nevada?
The Nevada LLC articles of incorporation cost $75.00 while a Nevada Corporation can cost anywhere from $75.00 to $375.00.
What permits do I need to start a business in Nevada?
- Nevada state business license.
- A county license.
- One or more local city license(s).
- Industry-specific licenses and permits.
- A professional license.
- County zoning permits.
Is Nevada a good place to start a business?
Starting a business in Nevada offers several positives, including offering some of the lowest incorporation fees in the U.S., favorable tax regulations (no state corporate income tax, franchise tax, or shares tax), and laws that protect business owners and their rights.
How do I get a business license in Nevada?
The state of Nevada requires all businesses to have a business license, which costs $500.00 annually for corporations and $200.00 annually for all other business types. This license can be obtained from the Nevada Secretary of State.
Do I need a Nevada business registration?
How long does it take to set up an LLC in Nevada?
Processing a corporation or LLC varies by state but can take four to six weeks.
How much is a business license in Nevada?
The annual renewal fee is $500 for corporations and $200 for all other business types.
How do I register a business name in Nevada?
You can register your business with the Nevada Secretary of State directly or get assistance from the SilverFlume Business Portal.
How long does it take to get a Nevada business license?
Most general licenses are issued within 45 days of receiving a complete application.
How do I start an LLC in Nevada?
- Choose a name for your LLC.
- File Articles of Organization.
- Appoint a registered agent.
- It is advisable to prepare an operating agreement, but it is not a requirement in Nevada.
- Comply with other tax and regulatory requirements, such as EIN, business license, and any others required by the department of taxation.
- File annual reports.
How do I start a sole proprietorship in Nevada?
- Choose a business name.
- File a Fictitious Firm Name Certificate with the county clerk.
- Obtain licenses, permits, and zoning clearances.
- Obtain an Employer Identification Number.
Do I have to live in Nevada to form an LLC there?
No, Nevada does not require members or managers of LLCs to live in the state.
What are the advantages of forming an LLC in Nevada?
- No state income, corporate, franchise, or shares taxes.
- Strong privacy protection for owners.
- No requirements for operating agreements or annual meetings.
- Fast registration times with low fees.
- Permissive rules on shares creation.
- Efficient judicial system for business disputes.
- Strong corporate veil against liability.
- No formal information-sharing agreement with the IRS.
Can I be my own registered agent in Nevada?
Yes, as long as you have a street address in the state. You don't, however, have to actually live in the state or be a resident of Nevada; you just need a street address there.
What is a certificate of good standing in Nevada?
A certificate of good standing is a document that certifies that your corporation legally exists and is up to date on all required documents and fees with the state.
How do I get an EIN number in Nevada?
You can apply for the IRS EIN Tax ID Number online.
Go through our article on applying for an EIN for step-by-step instructions.
How do I start a business in Nevada with no money?
- Get creative to discover funding sources.
- Use your current resources in different ways to generate income.
- Get a loan or a line of credit to help with the early stages of your business.
- Crowdfund and allow the public to invest a small percentage of money in return for a future buy-in.
- Use a business incubator designed specifically to financially assist a startup company.
How can I protect the name and logo of my business in Nevada?
Do I need workers' compensation for my new business in Nevada?
Any employer in Nevada with one or more employees is compelled to provide workers’ compensation coverage.
Does my Nevada business need to contribute to health insurance?
Health insurance isn’t a requirement for small businesses in Nevada.
What is the Nevada state business portal?
SilverFlume is Nevada's official business portal, where new business owners can register their businesses and find out exactly which licenses and permits they need for their particular industry.
How much does it cost to start an LLC in Nevada?
It costs $425.00 to start an LLC in Nevada: $75.00 for the Articles of Organization, $150.00 for the Nevada Initial List, and $200.00 for a state business license.